Single Post feed

FlyGuyDesigns.com is Hijacked

Update 5-16-08. Dan has control back of www.flyguydesigns.com

As you may know, Dan sells super fresh photoshop brushes at his personal site, Flyguy Designs. In a recent turn of events, his domain has been stolen and hijacked. The hijacker has replaced the payment codes, deleted server files, embedded spam links in the source code and is a down right dirty scumbag. If you purchase a product, you get nothing in return and the scammer just stole your cash. So for the time being, do not download anything from Flyguy Designs until this gets worked out. We are pulling for Dan’s Host to play nice so he can get control back of the domain. Stay tuned for more info.

Comments

Jon Parker 06:01pm  on  05.07.08

Brutal! Sorry to hear about that. Domain squatters and thieves are the scum of the internet… down there with spammers.

Best of luck pursuing justice, Dan.

Dan 11:26pm  on  05.07.08

thanks for the support Jon.

Jason Gaylor 04:16am  on  05.08.08

Dan, we’re all hoping you get this resolved quickly so you can regain access and notify your customers.

Eric 07:22pm  on  05.08.08

Ah man. That sucks. I hope you get it all fixed and then go beat the crap out of the one who is responsible for the hijacking.

Corey Canada 08:58am  on  05.09.08

Hey Eric C.-I deleted the brown words of descriptive stinky and the eff bomb from your comment. Hope you don’t mind. Do you kiss your mom with that mouth? grin

Dan 11:58pm  on  05.10.08

UPDATE:
Well this lowlife had taken down the site this morning after being warned they were in violation of copyright infringement. Guess they squeezed past the red tape cause its now back up and running again. Godaddy had contacted me this morning with rather frustrating news. They informed me that the matter is in the hands and balance of enom.com deciding if they want to corporate or not. All they need to say is na, we are not willing to do anything and thats all folks. Godaddy is not putting forth much effort to pressure them into giving me my domain back which was wrongfully taken from me. Geezzz.

Pete 09:32pm  on  05.11.08

I just paid $500 for this site from a sitepoint auction 2 days ago. I would be happy to help track down the person that stole it and hopefully get my money back. I don’t want to own a stolen domain.

http://marketplace.sitepoint.com/auctions/35711

The person I bought this from was really helpful and of course used @flyguydesigns.com email, so I thought this was legit. If anyone is a good detective, he also emailed me from : sleepyadmin@gmail.com (after the transaction was finished) Maybe someone can find out more about him.

I made 2 disputes with paypal (I paid $500 in 2 $250 transactions)

Dan I wish you posted your email so I could contact you, please contact me at pwk at webmail dot us

Dan 08:35am  on  05.12.08

Pete you can contact me a dan [at] departika [dot] com

Bonnie Bell 03:02pm  on  05.15.08

Dude, I hope you are able to figure out this site snatching.  I have your site bookmarked and I frequently lurk around it waiting for your new releases so that I can scoop them up and take them back to my design studio and tinker with them in my designs.  Thanks for the great prices and the no strings attached system...not that linking is a bad thing.
-Inventing Matilda

cash 12:26pm  on  05.21.08

before this post i was not even aware that domain names could be stolen. i immediately did some research and it seems domain stealing is widespread, and a good way to try to avoid it is to place a lock on your domain. i know go daddy offers this feture.

Jason 11:47am  on  05.29.08

I was always under the impression that domain locking was always on by default, and transfers of .com and .net domains required authorization codes from your registrar. I would make sure that your GoDaddy account, or whoever your registrar is, wasn’t compromised.

web development 04:14am  on  06.24.09

Sorry to hear about that hope to get control back of the domain.

Submit Your Comment

* Required Fields